APA Zoop Quick Update

Posted by Angie:

I’m back home now. It was a great trip!

Currently I can working on going through the data I collected throughout the summer. I have APA and Protein amounts for 600 zooplankton. Here is a quick and simple bar graph summarizing those numbers.  Here I normalized APA to protein.

Zooplankton APA

I’m also working on measuring the length of the animals from their photographs. Once I get these done I will normalize APA to animal size and see how that looks. I also have water filters from the lake that I need to process for P and C content. I brought the filters back from Norway and plan to bring them into Dr. Elser’s lab in Tempe this week.

I’m also typing up a bit about exactly what I did in Norway – the procedures I did to collect and analyze my samples.  I  hope to post/ email more soon.

Much thanks to everyone that made it possible and helped me out this summer. It really was an amazing opportunity. Thanks!

4 responses to “APA Zoop Quick Update

  1. Hi Angie,
    Tom and I are very happy to see the data, even in the preliminary form. What are the series exactly? What we hope is that it is the high and low N-dep areas that you separated them by, but we are not sure. Please let us know.
    It is also really cool that bosmina seem to put so much into obtaining P vs any of the others.

  2. In the graph the blue bars are from the High N deposition areas, around Egersund. The red bars are from the low N deposition areas, around Lillehammar. Yeah, it is neat how varied the species are from each other.

  3. Hi Angie,

    good to see that your efforts in Norway seem to pay off. These are intriguing data, and I believe the first of their kind. Both the species differences and site differences are highly interesting. It might be that the differences between blue and red bars reflect total P and not necessarily high N:P, but I assume that will be resolved by the next round of analysis…

    Dag

  4. Great going Angie!

    The species-specific differences are tricky to interpret right now, but the high dep vs low dep pattern is indeed intriguing!

    Jim

Leave a Reply

