Lake Atitlán

Hola all, from Guatemala!  This is Jess… I haven’t posted in awhile, but I am back in the field for a short time, so thought I would send an update.  I am in Panajachal, on the shores of Lake Atitlán.  There has been a lot of concern recently as there have been some large plankton blooms.  I am here with a group of international researchers and students (from Guatemala, USA, Czech), studying the dynamics of the lake.  My part of the project is to look at what limits the growth of phytoplankton – light? nutrients? something else?  Hopefully, by the end of this trip, we’ll have an answer!  If you’d like to read what the rest of the trip participants are doing and get some general updates, please check out the expedition’s blog.

Leave a Reply

